Devan Tang Wins Macau Poker Cup Championship Main Event

Final Table

After starting Day 2 with only an average stack, Devan Tang managed to build up his chips and win this year’s Macau Poker Cup Championship (MPCC) Main Event at the Grand Lisboa Casino’s PokerStars Macau poker room.

Tang entered Day 2, which was composed of a field of the event’s 24 remaining players, with only 143,000 in chips - just right around the middle of the pack. By the time the ten final table players had been decided, though, he was already the chip leader with a chip count of 610,000.

He then proceeded to steamroll many of the other players with his chip stack before finally going heads-up against Michael Chang of Taipei. With a massive chip lead, the two eventually went all-in on a board of {10-Diamonds}{k-Clubs}{8-Spades}{3-Hearts}. Chang had {a-Diamonds}{q-Spades} for the straight draw while Tang showed {a-Spades}{k-Hearts} for top pair, top kicker. No jack came on the river for Chang, giving Tang the coveted title.

For outlasting the 157 other participants in the tournament, Tang walks away with HKD $727,600 and the championship trophy. Chang, on the other hand, still gets a lot of consolation with the HKD $490,100 runner-up prize money.

Meanwhile, PokerStars Team Asia Pro member Tae Jun Noh’s eighth place finish in the Main Event clinched the Asian Player of the Year award for Kitty Kuo, who also hails from Taipei. Kitty was the winner of the October 2009 Red Dragon tournament at PokerStars Macau and entered the MPCC as the Asian Player of the Year points leader.

The MPCC was a nine-day collection of exciting tournaments held from December 12-20, 2009. Buy-in for the main event was HKD $20,000.

Here are the payouts from the final table of the MPCC Main Event:

1.Yinseng “Devan” Tang (Hong Kong) HKD $727,600
2. Chun Chieh "Michael" Chang (Taipei) HKD $490,100
3. Vincent Chung (USA) HKD $311,900
4. Wing Bor "Paul" Cheng (Hong Kong) HKD $252,500
5. Bryan Huang (Singapore) HKD $200,500
6. Yong Hyun "James" Yoo (Korea) HKD $163,400
7. Yew Fatt "Raiden" Kan (Hong Kong) HKD $133,700
8. Tae Jun Noh (Korea) HKD $104,000
9. Daren Yoon (Malaysia) HKD $89,100
10. Ming Fang (China) HKD $74,300

Start playing on PokerStars now!

Join Asia PokerNews on Facebook and follow us on Twitter!

More Stories

Other Stories