APPT Manila Main Event

That's A Wrap!

Day 1 Concludes
After a frantic final few minutes of action, we reached the conclusion to the end of Day 1a of the 2008 APPT Manila Main Event.

Today saw a healthy field of 149 players take to the felt with several notables, many locals and one world champion. In the end, approximately 40 players survived the day, and are likely to be led by Chang Yong Suk, who captured a massive pot very late in the evening against Eric Sia. He'll hold a narrow chip lead over Michael Shell, who was out in front for most of the day without being involved in too many big pots.

Other notable players that survived include David Saab, James Broom, Josh Pang Ang, Sunshine Samson, Michael Chrisanthopoulos and Wally Sombero.

Tomorrow we expect to see many of the big name professionals hit the felt, with the likes of Lee Nelson, JJ Liu, John Phan, Van Marcus, Eddy Sabat, Carter Gill and Celina Lin all scheduled to play. The action once again commences at 12:30 p.m. local time and we look forward to your company then!