Event #47: $1,000 No-Limit Hold’em

Notables in the Field


For the first time in five weeks we have a field without (almost) notables. Where are you guys?

This are the ones we already spot:

Leandro "Brasa" Pimentel
André Akkari
Jerry Yang
Antonio Esfandiari
Vadim Markushevski
Darus Suharto
Dennis Phillips
Matt Stout
Leo Margets
Gavin Griffin
Lauren Kling
Keith Ferrera
Mike Souza
Jordan Morgan
Moto Mobuchi
Bernard Lee
Billy Baxter
Scott Montgomery
and our colleague, the British blogger, Marc Convey!

Day 1A About to Begin!


The fifth $1,000 buy-in No Limit Hold'em tournament of the 2010 World Series of Poker is about to get underway. Thousands of people are expected to enter the tournament between today and tomorrow that'll fill the Pavilion Room to the max.

There have already been four $1,000 events this year, drawing crowds between 3,000-4,300. Past winners include Aadam Daya ($625,872), Steven Gee ($472,479), Jeffrey Tebben ($503,389), and Scott Montgomery ($481,760). Montgomery, the former November Niner from 2008 and a well known pro, was the most recent winner after clearing a field of 3,102.

The field will be packed with amateur hopefuls, but there will be a number of professionals in the field as well. Will an unknown clear the massive field to claim the title, or will another pro survive to take down the gold bracelet? PokerNews will be here to bring you all the action, chip counts, hand updates and eliminations as we look for an answer to that question. Action will begin in about a half hour, so stay tuned.