Event #57: $10,000 No-Limit Hold'em Championship

Final 27 Set, November Nine Decided Tomorrow

Joseph Cheong

A total of 78 players -- all survivors of six days' worth of poker -- arrived at noon today with hopes of continuing their long and winding tourney journeys. They were the final standing from the starting field of 7,319, and all had already achieved much.

But all wanted more. And just 27 would earn the right to come back tomorrow for the last day of poker this summer in the 2010 WSOP.

Bustouts began shortly after cards went in the air, with Jean-Robert Bellande, Meenakshi Subramaniam, David Benyamine, Peter Jetten, Alexander Kostritsyn, and Tony Dunst among those departing during the first levels.

The pace slowed as the dinner break approached, and with 42 left it was thought it might take a while before we'd get down to three tables.

But then came the fireworks of Level 29 -- specifically the last hour of Level 29, when 11 players were eliminated. It didn't take long after that for Theo Jorgensen, Gianni Direnzo, and Bryn Kenney all to hit the rail, too, each earning $255,242 for getting this far.

As the night wore on, Joseph Cheong and Cuong Nguyen put some distance between themselves and the rest of the field, but there's a formidable bunch behind them, among them Matt Affleck, John Racener, Scott Clements, David Baker, and Michael "The Grinder" Mizrachi. Mizrachi took some hits early today, but true to his name, grinded his way back into contention, and still (incredibly) has a chance of tying Frank Kassela for WSOP POY with a Main Event victory.

Thanks for following our coverage today. Join us again tomorrow at noon Vegas time to find out who among these 27 will emerge as this year's November Nine.

NameChip CountBig Blinds 
Joseph Cheong24,490,000204 
Sol Nguyen23,100,000192 
Pascal LeFrancois17,780,000148 
Jason Senti13,550,000112 
Matthew Jarvis13,300,000110 
Matt Affleck12,515,000104 
Jonathan Duhamel10,520,00087 
John Racener10,470,00087 
Filippo Candio10,020,00083 
Benjamin Statz9,885,00082 
Robert Pisano8,060,00067 
Michiel Sijpkens7,765,00064 
Duy Le7,255,00060 
Scott Clements7,250,00060 
David Baker6,825,00056 
Michael Mizrachi6,300,00052 
Brandon Steven6,045,00050 
Adam Levy4,745,00039 
William Thorson3,680,00030 
Redmond Lee3,315,00027 
Mads Wissing3,070,00025 
Ronnie Bardah2,525,00021 
Matthew Bucaric2,270,00018 
John Dolan2,175,00018 
Patrick Eskandar1,655,00013 
Johnny Lodden1,560,00013 
Hasan Habib1,510,00012