Event #14: $3,000 Limit Hold'em

Welcome to Day 1 of the $3,000 Limit Hold'em Event of the 2011 WSOP

Defending Champ Eric Buchman winning his first bracelet in this event in 2010!
Defending Champ Eric Buchman winning his first bracelet in this event in 2010!

Last week, the World Series of Poker hosted its first limit-hold'em tournament with the popular $1,500 buy-in event. That tournament drew an impressive 675 players and saw Harrison Wilder outlast the competition to take down his first gold bracelet and the accompanying $205,065 first-place prize. Today, the journey for the next limit-hold'em champion will begin with Event #14: $3,000 Limit Hold'em.

In years past, this event has ranged in buy-ins from $2,000 to $3,000, with the event boasting the cheaper price tag the past three years. Needless to say, with this year's tournament costing an extra $1,000, the prize pool ought to be juiced.

The tournament is expected to draw some of the biggest names in poker, and why shouldn't it given the prestige it has awarded past winners. Todd Witteles, Bill Chen, Daniel Negreanu, and Eric Buchman are some of the notables who've won this event in the past. In fact, Negreanu's last WSOP victory came when he defeated 479 players in this event back in 2008. That was good for $204,874 and his fourth gold bracelet. Meanwhile, former November Niner Buchman is the defending champ after outlasting 476 players last year to win $203,607 and his first bracelet; however, a title defense is in question as Buchman is currently going deep in the $10,000 Omaha Hi-Low Split-8 or Better Championship.

Here is a look back at this event's history:

Former $2,000-$3,000 Limit Hold’em Champions

2005Event #10 ($2,000)569Siagzar (Reza) Payvar$303,610
Event #17 ($2,500)373Quinn Do$265,975
Event #36 ($3,000)406Todd Witteles$347,385
2006Event #23 ($3,000)341Ian Johns$291,755
Event #7 ($3,000)415Bill Chen$343,618
2007Event #34 ($3,000)296Alexander Borteh$225,483
Event #43 ($2,000)472Safi Ahmad$217,329
2008Event #20 ($2,000)479Daniel Negreanu$204,863
2009Event #38 ($2,000)446Marc Naalden$190,770
2010Event #18 ($2,000)476Eric Buchman$203,607
2011Event #14 ($3,000)?????????

Who will be the next to claim the coveted $3,000 Limit-Hold'em title? It is going to take three days, but we'll eventually have our answer. In the meantime, be sure to join us at 5 PM PST as we kick things off and bring you all the latest and greatest limit action!

Event #14: $3,000 Limit Hold'em
Day 1 started