Event #45: $1,000 No-Limit Hold’em

$1,000 NLHE 2009-Today

• Level 8: 200-400, 50 ante

After the United States fell into recession, many poker players were looking for cheaper buy-in tournaments to splash around in. During the 2009 WSOP, there was one open $1,000 No-Limit Hold 'Em buy-in event which was appropriately nicknamed the "Stimulus Special."

Last year WSOP bumped the number of open $1,000 NLHE events to six total. This year there are five of these recession-friendly events.

Below is a chart showing the winners of all the $1,000 events from 2009 through today. (Note, this table does not include Ladies Events, Seniors Events, or Rebuy Events.)

Who will be the next player to join this prestigious list of winners? Stay tuned to PokerNews to find out!

Former $1,000 NLHE Champions

2009Event #4Steve Sung6,012$771,106
2010Event #3Aadam Daya4,345$625,872
2010Event #13Steven Gee3,024$472,479
2010Event #24Jeffrey Tebben3,289$503,389
2010Event #36Scott Montgomery3,102$481,760
2010Event #47Shawn Busse3,128$485,791
2010Event #54Marcel Vonk3,844$570,960
2011Event #8Sean Getzwiller4,178$611,185
2011Event #20Jason Somerville3,175$493,091
2011Event #34Mark Schmid3,144$488,283