Event #4: $1,000 No-Limit Hold'em

Welcome to the First $1,000 Buy-In No-Limit Hold'em Event of the Summer


Welcome back to the 2014 World Series of Poker! It’s the third day of action this summer, and today will see the start of the first $1,000 buy-in no-limit hold’em event of the summer. Yesterday Event #3 $1,000 Pot-Limit Omaha attracted a massive 1,128 players, and if history is any indication, Event #4 $1,000 No-Limit Hold’em should draw quite a bit more than that; in fact, right now there are more than 1,300 players registered for the tournament.

Last year, the first $1,000 no-limit event of the summer (a re-entry event) saw 3,164 total entries, and after three days of intense play, it was Canada’s Charles Sylvestre that emerged victorious to capture the $491,360 first-place prize.

Other $1,000 NLHE winners from last summer include Matt Waxman, who defeated Eric Baldwin heads up in Event #7 to win $305,952; Taylor Paur, who took down Event #18 for $340,260 after overcoming the unconventional Roy Weiss, who was moving all in every hand to neutralize his more experienced opponent; Chris Drombrowski, who topped a field of 2,108 players to win Event #30 for $346,332; Michael Gathy, who captured the Event #34 $1,000 NLHE Turbo title for $278,613; Norbert Szecsi, who defeated one of the quickest final table (132 hands in less than five hours) to win Event #42 for $345,037; and Dana Castaneda, who added her name to the short list of women to win an open event by taking down the Event #54 title for $454,207.

If you look at all of those winners you will see one thing in common — they all ponied up $1,000 and turned it into a big six-figure payday. The winner of this event will do the same. Action will kick off at 12 noon local time, which is just over an hour from now. Join us then as we bring you all the action from Day 1 of the summer's first $1,000 buy-in no-limit hold’em tournament.