Event #9: $1,000 No-Limit Hold'em
Days:
123

"Is That Even Allowed?"

[user253757] • Level 2: 25-50, 0 ante
Jack Effel ruled that losing with a full house is indeed allowed in WSOP competition

About a half an hour into the tournament we heard the question above being loudly directed to Tournament Director Jack Effel, and after he looked down from the podium to see what all the fuss was about, it turned out to be nothing more than a bad beat story.

"I turned a full house..." said the man who had just made a second-best monster. "And he had quads!"

According to Andy Kurtz, the winner of the hand, the action limped around to the complainer on the button, who raised to 125. That bet was called in three spots, including by Kurtz who held {3-}{3-}.

The flop rolled out {a-}{3-}{3-Hearts} to give Kurtz quads on the flop, and like Mike McD before him, he checked, checked, checked in hopes of trapping.

All four players in the pot tapped the table on the flop, and this action repeated on the {7-Hearts} turn. When the {6-Hearts} completed the board on the river, Kurtz checked his monster for a third time, and with the action now on him, the man who wanted to know if bad beats are legal decided to fire out for 450. After all, his {7-}{7-} had hit the turn hard to give him a full house, but when Kurtz raised all-in for less than the starting stack, the player with a full boat begin to suspect something was amiss.

"I even ran through the hands that could beat me," he told us after the hand. "Aces, four-five of hearts, quads... but I had to call."

After committing the calling chips to halve his own stack, the man discovered his instincts were indeed correct, as Kurtz rolled over his quad threes to double up in style.

Player Chips Progress
Andy Kurtz
Andy Kurtz
4,200 4,200

Tags: Andy Kurtz